top of page

POETRY PLEASE! Dido And The Streets

During the first module weekend of the Living Room’s Addiction and Recovery Coaching course, Paul was inspired to imagine a recovery conversation between two of his musical heroes.


DIDO:

It doesn’t have to be this way -

You can make it any way. All you really have to say Is my life belongs to me today.



THE STREETS: I often find that I yearn for control - I have a role but it’s Down in the hole. These were dark days and I’ve Found dRk ways To score my goal and Make myself feel whole.


Now my brain has incited a cog ignition, invited A new position: Stop the juxtaposition Of myself with others - My sisters, my strangers My brothers and all my other mothers.


DIDO: It doesn’t have to be this way - You can make it any way . All you really have to say Is my life belongs to me today.


THE STREETS: How far do you think Despair will sink, Unfairly comparing When you’re on the brink?

You’re bound to think that your life is shit, That I got IT And there’s no point to any of it....

Inside us all is all that we need.

The power of the hour is the flower of the seed. Your time to grow, your time to sow, your time to feed, your time to know. You’re everything that you want to be. You’re you, you’re me, and we are free.


DIDO: It doesn’t have to be this way - You can make it any way . All you really have to say Is my life belongs to me today

My life belongs to me today.


October 2016

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page