top of page

POETRY PLEASE! A Message of Hope to my Liver


Our friend Gwilym Wyn has penned this ode of appreciation which we are pleased to share, hoping that it will inspire others to celebrate their own recovery!

You are my forgiver

I confess I do abuse you

My lovely only liver.

How long? How long?

Can you forgive me

My lovely only liver.


Why do I abuse you

When I should only use you?

Can you forgive me?

My lovely lonely liver.


I drown you in my sorrow

I dream not of tomorrow.

Can you forgive me?

My lovely only liver.


Tell me now before I die

How long can you forgive the silly me?

My lovely only liver.


So often I ignore you,

As if I do not own you

But you are my friend and forgiver

My lovely lonely liver.

Why? Why? There is no pain

What do I gain?

The same again

There is no pain

I’ve done it again.

Please, please complain.

My lovely suffering liver.


Will you be with me to the end?

When I’ve failed to comprehend

Why I gave you so much pain

Why did you not complain?

My lovely, lovely liver.


But there is hope for you and me,

Without you there will not be me.

I promise you I will respect you and love you today and tomorrow.

You are my best friend although you don’t complain,

I hope to love you and live with you.

I will fill myself with hope today

And hope we can survive another day.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page