top of page

Mary’s Giving It Back

Volunteering is the life blood of the Living Room, and we are lucky to have many dedicated helpers. Here long term supporter Mary Stephens tells us what she gets out of helping us out.

I’ve had so much help – giving my time is my ‘insurance policy’.


I first came to the Living Room in early recovery from alcohol at the time when the Living Room was first established. Although I realise that every day is a new challenge, I have had so much help here, and coming to groups and volunteering is like my “insurance policy” that keeps me safe, and strengthens my recovery.


Addiction is a very selfish illness, and I was selfish too – now I have turned my life around and give back to the Living Room, in the same way it has helped me.


I’m here on a Monday afternoon, on reception and in the office. I’m the first point of contact for phone calls, and deal with what I can, or refer people on to Carol and the team. I can advise people of group sessions and activities, and set up one to one counselling sessions and appointments for service users.


I might get a call from a GP, probation officer, social worker or support worker asking if the Living Room would be able to offer help to a patient or client of theirs. People will also often just pop in, and I’ll make them a coffee and chat with them. I have been trained in the intake and assessment process with prospective service users, while showing understanding and support.


The Living Room staff are fantastic. They have been so supportive of me, as they are with all service users. Although I’m usually here the same day every week, they are flexible in allowing me to reschedule if necessary.


Volunteering here is so rewarding. Meeting people with all kinds of addictive illnesses helps me understand myself more and enhances my recovery. I always leave thinking ‘I’ve helped the Living Room today, and I may have helped a client’. Being of help to someone else helps me.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page