top of page

I am truly just a six year old kid enjoying life to the full!



I attended a religious seminar "Sul Sbesial" in Drefach Felindre, Carmarthenshire in the summer of 2013, where I noticed Carol Hardy at a stand highlighting the work of the Living Room. I was previously aware of Carol’s own addiction and had seen the awesome television documentary based on her addiction and recovery journey.


During a break in events, I started discussing my own addiction with Carol and found myself immediately divulging my own addiction and saying that I desperately required help.


Previous attempts at detoxing had physically been successful but not mentally and I relapsed thinking that I could then “manage” my recovery on my own – BIG mistake!


I received a lot of literature and advice from Carol at the event and afterward I maintained constant contact with her. However, it took me over three months, before I dared to visit the Living Room centre in Richmond Road, Cardiff. I was terrified.


I began to attend further meetings at the centre after my initial assessment, not on a regular basis as Cardiff is nearly 100 miles from home. Slow bach, however I gradually began to understand the importance of working with others with similar addiction issues and of sharing in groups.


One important series of meetings that I tried not to miss a single one, was that on the “theory of the AA steps” – this proved an important stepping stone in my recovery.


I was introduced to other groups and agencies dealing with addiction and started regular attendance at a Welsh-speaking group in early 2014. I have since taken on more of a formal responsibility within this group.


I have attended many retreats with other colleagues at both Trefecca and St Davids, which I have benefited from greatly on my recovery journey. I have also attended cross-faith meetings; in fact it was at one of these that I met a captain from the Salvation Army (SA). I currently volunteer at the local SA community centre every Tuesday and assist with all kinds of work with the users of the centre – be it homelessness, mental health, addiction or to be just a listener.


Last year I started a college course on Recovery Coaching, learning the fundamentals of coaching people in recovery and this year I am gaining practical experience of this by my work at the SA and also our new venture to create a “satellite” Living Room in Carmarthen.


I am truly grateful to everyone involved in my recovery journey and as I am 66 years old and in my sixth year of sobriety – I am truly just a six year old kid enjoying life to the full!

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page